Teenage Book Series, Easy Reading

I have been writing a series of small books in

A5, font in size 16 for teenagers that are

having difficulty reading. There are four main

characters, Mykel, River, Christine and Maria.

Each book tells their story interacting with

children from diverse backgrounds.

Each book is approximately 100 pages with

pages of exercises at the back to see how well

the child remembered what they were

reading. I have kept the books short on

purpose as children who find reading difficult

are often overwhelmed by size and small

print.  

The books cover every day experiences and

how the children deal with them. A lot is

written from the child’s point of view and will

be a learning experience of life as well as an

aid for reading more proficiently. The sub title

is Easy Reading for 12 to 15 year-olds. My

aim was for them to be accepted into the

Public School System, either as remedial

reading or as part of the curriculum. Finding

out the best way to go about this has been a

challenge.

I have been astounded to find out that every

school buys their own books. I thought

curriculum would be nationwide. What

happens when a student leaves one school to

go to another?

At this point in time I have had ten books

printed each of Mykel and River. Christine

has just come back from the proof-reader and

Maria yet to be proofread. One book each, I

sent to my grandson who is a very mature

twelve-year-old, as I dedicated these two to

him. I’m sure he does not need help with

reading. The other nine are samples.

It must be appreciated that the smaller the

quantity printed, the higher the cost. I haven’t

written this series to make money, but I have

to cover my costs and a little for my effort.

If I can market what I have written, I plan to

write another eight in the series, keeping

Mykel, River, Christine and Maria in every

book, but adding characters from diverse

backgrounds, and taking them through grades

8, 9 and 10. The four main characters are

Caucasian. Why you may ask. Because it is

this group that appears to have the most

difficulty reading.

Here is a little background about myself and

family. I taught my eldest daughter to read at

three years of age. She could read small print

at four and was also writing cursive and

doing simple math. She started

Correspondence Home Schooling in January

just after her fourth birthday. By the time she

was five and ten months she had completed

grade three. After her sixth birthday, she

asked to go to school. I told Barry Lofts, the

headmaster, that she had completed grade

three and that I didn’t mind if she had to

repeat that grade. Mr Lofts rejected my

request and placed her in grade one. GRADE

ONE!

I begged him to at least let her go into grade

two, but NO, it had to be grade one. It

destroyed all the hard work we had both put

in. She hated the classroom and concentrated

on sport, she left school in grade eleven.

However, she put herself through university

and got a degree in a Bachelor of Business.

The disappointment prevented me from

teaching my youngest daughter to read, as she

showed no interest to learn. I discovered

when she was eight years old that she could

not read even simple grade one books. The

kick up the backside I needed was when Brian

Hammel asked my daughter to read in class

and when she put her head on the desk and

cried, he threw a book at her head. This

devastated both my daughter and me. I was

determined to teach her to read over the

Christmas holidays. I put her through the

Ladybird Key Word Reading Scheme. She

read and understood twenty four books in six

weeks. We also tackled simple math and

writing.

There is definitely a skill to teaching reading

and I acknowledge that it is easier to teach

one person than it is a group. My method is

for the child/student to sound out each word

in the sentence, and then read the sentence

again and even again if they stumbled and

then question the child for comprehension

before going on to the next sentence. When

the book is completed, the student must then

reread fluently the same book before going on

to another. One book well read is worth ten

barely comprehended.

It is shocking to hear on the news how badly

Australia is doing regarding reading and

comprehension: Singapore being the highest.

Surely we can learn from Singapore. We must

improve in this regard. It is an

embarrassment to be so far down the list of

countries rated from high to low.

The book that is used to teach reading, is also

critical. Whilst I taught both my children to

read with The Ladybird Key Word Reading

Scheme, they were lacking the necessary

ingredient to make learning easier. For

instance, read and read are spelt the same, but

one is present tense and the other past tense.

So a child must learn this as part of their

reading skill, eg: I want to read this book, but

I have already read that one.

Notice that I have sub titled my books Easy

Reading, rather than For Slow Readers, or

Reading for Dummies. If you put a child

down, they lose incentive to try. The child

needs to look forward to learning. It is no use

getting exasperated when the child

mispronounces a word. Don’t help them

either until it is obvious they will never get it.

Praise goes a long way. Explaining the need

to read well in life is very necessary as well.

I have offered to volunteer at Tyalgum

Primary School several times. Every time I

have gone there they have told me the

principal isn’t in that day. I went on the first

day of the term in January and the principal

was not there. Each time I left my name and

phone number, but was never contacted.

When I finally went to administration to ask

why, they told me that I must not have a

Background Check for working with children.

But was I ever asked to get one? I volunteered

there before when Mr Cosgrove was

principal. When there is such a shortage of

teachers, why not use a free resource? Some

things cannot be explained adequately.

Some publishers handle curriculum, but this

series is not textbooks, so I doubt they would

be interested. I hope I haven’t done all this for

nothing. I want to make a difference

somewhere, somehow. Hiranya Sun

About eleanawi

Hi, I am Eleana Winter-Irving, a very youthful 80 year old. I own land and work hard. I built my own 4 bedroom house with a little help from my friends and I still regularly use a chain saw, fell weed trees and chop firewood. I keep fit by working hard and I also love dancing. If I am not out dancing I am at home, not anything old fashioned like waltzes, lol. I am a freestyler. I read a lot, love photography and going to places I haven’t been to before. I have travelled extensively all over the world to more than 30 countries and lived in 6 different countries. I have 2 children, both girls and both happy with long term partners. I became a grandmother in 2012. I can’t say the same for myself. I seem to be unlucky with men. I am very warm and affectionate with the ‘right’ person. I have New Age leanings, but not over the top. I am a Gnostic, so I don’t follow any religion. Religion is for those who are lost and can’t rely on their conscience to guide them. Yes, I am different from most people, especially women my age. If you dare to follow my blogs you will quickly notice that they are usually controversial. That’s me, I am controversial. I date guys in their twenties and thirties. They find me attractive and I find them attractive. I won’t date someone I am not attracted to, though it doesn’t matter for friendships. I am not into sport at all, though I was hockey and netball captain at school year after year. I like most music, except for heavy metal, rock ‘n’ roll, country and western, hip hop and rap. I do like some hip hop and rap, depends on what they are saying. I was born in India, educated in England and Australia and now live permanently in Australia. I have no claim to academia, though I consider myself intelligent, not intellectual. If you can’t think of anything to comment on about any of my blogs, that’s fine with me. I know it’s difficult when a subject is unusual. I write to get people thinking and of course if you do have something to say, I am all ears, lol. One thing, I doubt you will be bored with any of my posts. Eleana
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment